Inspiration

¿Quién nos salvará de los conejos?

It’s been quite gloomy and rainy here in Barcelona lately, a sure sign that Autumn is on it’s way. And what better way to spend rainy afternoons, especially when nursing a cold, than to read. One of my favourite books is titled “The Rabbits” illustrated by one very talented artmaker Shaun Tan. He worked alongside John Marsden to create this dark and interesting tale about Australia and colonisation. I like it for more than one reason. First of all, I bought the book in Spanish, and it was the first book I could read from start to finish and understand in Castellano. Of course the artwork helped, and what incredible artwork it is!

I first laid my eyes on “Los Conejos” when my friend Rat showed me the book which had been lent to her by a colleague at work. It stayed with me for years after that, scratching at my mind, until eventually I found myself my very own copy in the Gothic Quarter in Barcelona. Now every time I need some illustration inspiration, or it’s raining outside and all I want to do is read a book, it’s usually the first one I pull off the shelf.

The large format of the book shows Tan’s work off really well, you can spend ages oggling over all the details, and if you’re like me, wondering how he did it! I really love the textures and patterns that make up many of the illustrations.

While perusing the various artworks, and projects created by this Australian artist, I came across this incredible theatrical interpretation of his story “The Arrival”. The puppets are wonderfully crafted, and it’s super to see how his illustrations have been interpreted. I will be keeping my eyes open for this one in the bookstore!

These are few images from the book.

His books although often marketed as children’s books, really capture concepts that are more often adult themed. Do have a peek at his website, as there are plenty of gems to be found there, including “The Lost Thing”, which has been turned into an animation, I cannot wait until I have a chance to see that!

Leave a comment