Inspiration / Living in Barcelona

Ceramics Inspiration

Last year I began ceramics classes, and it has been one of the most rewarding experiences. I have spent quite a bit of time learning and creating, and excitedly waiting to see what magic happens in the kilns as the glazes melt and combine, turning my work into surprises that I couldn’t have imagined. A day or so ago I visited a store in the Raval barrio of Barcelona called Angela Colls, which specializes in clays, glazes and all sort of pottery paraphernalia. I worked up the courage to buy the most expensive pencil I have ever bought, and slapped down my hard earned Euros for the ability to draw, in pencil, on my clay plates, dishes, platters and cups. I cannot wait to see the results.

These are some of the things that I have made over the last few months.

IMG_0585IMG_0587

And just to keep myself inspired, 10 ceramic pieces that I covet by others:

ceramics
1. / 2. / 3. / 4. / 5. / 6. / 7. / 8. / 9. / 10.

13 thoughts on “Ceramics Inspiration

    • When I was in South Africa, as a little girl, a neighbour of ours let us make things in her studio as kids, she was a Raku master, and a well known artist in the South African ceramics world. Later in Japan, I always admired the beautiful pottery, and brought quite a bit of it back with me. But it was only here in Barcelona that I finally tried it myself. My ceramics teacher is as avid raku fan, and hold workshops with her ceramics partner Misako. Surprisingly the smell of the burning bushes that they use to fire the clay took me right back to South Africa, because that’s where I had smelled the burning sawdust first. Strange how the memories associated with smells are so strong! And the firing of the raku has such a distinctive smell!

      I wrote a post here on the raku workshop I attended.
      http://katcameronillustration.com/2012/05/16/raku-ceramics/

Leave a Reply

