Illustration / Living in Barcelona

Why don’t you ride your bicycle?


Yesterday was Milos’s birthday. We have birthdays more or less 2 weeks apart, so I get to be older than him for 2 weeks, then he catches up. My mom shares the same birthday as him, so it was a double whammy of a day. Milos and I don’t tend to celebrate anniversaries or other days in big ways, but birthdays are our exception. I think we kind of try to outdo each other every year.

I was whisked off to Venice for the weekend and was uber spoiled with a wacom cintiq (which I am slowly figuring out how to use). So I wasn’t really able to beat him this year, I mean what can top Venice and clever drawing technology? Yeah I don’t know.

Anyway, he got a fancy desktop computer this year and I bought him Skyrim, which he is dying to play. Unfortunately the computer didn’t arrive on time, and so feeling really blue about not having a proper gift to present him with traditional birthday breakfast, I made him a calendar of biking beasties.


I had spent the evenings at work drawing and doodling and now he has a funny creature on each month riding bizarre looking bicycles. He doesn’t need to buy a calendar for next year, although he thought my porcupine looked like a firework. hmmm I may have to work at drawing porcupines!

I have selected a few, which I have coloured, and I think I will be adding them as prints to the shop next year. Next week I travel to South Africa, so I will get time to say Happy Birthday in person to my mom, and spend Christmas with my family. Good bye winter in Barcelona, hello summer in South Africa!



I will be closing up the Kat Cameron illustration shop at the end of this week, and reopening at the end of January. Expect some African flavoured blog posts…

HAPPY BIRTHDAY MILOS AND MOM!

7 thoughts on “Why don’t you ride your bicycle?

    • Thanks! I think Milos liked it too! The cintiq is awesome, however I find it is not uber practical. It needs its own power source, so really its best with a permanent desk working space setup. I went from a bamboo which was about 5 years old (still works perfectly – I love wacom) to the cintiq, and its noticeably more like drawing with a proper pencil/ pen, the sensitivity means i can get far more detail than with my bamboo, but i find that drawing on the screen doesnt make any difference (yet) and in fact i am struggling a little because I cannot easily swap between mouse and pen as i was so used to doing. In other words, as cool as the cintiq is, I may have been more happy with the latest intuos… anyway this is all my first impression, hahah ask me again in a couple of months when I am used to my new setup! :)

Leave a Reply

