Illustration

Jealousy makes you ugly

The past few days I have been busy scouring the internet waves, the streets and alleys, the dark cobwebs of my mind, and the treetops for ideas for a collective exhibition I will be taking part in next week. All the artists involved will be painting a large mural on the wall together. But I’ve found myself in an artistic quandary. I don’t know what to paint, and the more I look at others amazing artwork, the more I seem to dig myself into a hole of doubt. Yep I’m jealous and feeling sorry for myself! Which is not such a wonderful place to be when you are supposed to be thinking of marvellous things to draw!

I’m hoping that I’m not the only artist that sometimes feels swamped by the amazingness of all the artists that surround us. In this day and age with most creatives owning their own miniature galleries in the form of an online portfolio, its easy to be blown away by the different styles, mediums, and creativity out there. The globalization of the world via the internet makes it that much more difficult to carve out a niche for yourself. And at the same time, it allows for such a flow and connectivity that I cannot truly see it as a bad thing.

It’s time for me to pull my socks up. Adjust my glasses, and see the works of others as inspiring, not “I wish I could draw like that!” or “I wish I thought of that first!” Even though it can be a bit intimidating, I’m hoping that we can all be intimidated together, and in that, at least, encourage each other to keep trying!

I love the blog The jealous Curator. Pretty much sums up my feelings right now, but with a good dash of humour, which is certainly needed in moments of self doubt! Go have a look.

2 thoughts on “Jealousy makes you ugly

Leave a Reply

