Interviews

Interview with a Crazy monkey

Tung Lethanh is an illustrator I came across on Behance, he kindly agreed to be interviewed. As a graphic designer, illustrator and animator, his style cuts through many genres. From cutesy to slick. I particularly like his portraits which seem to effortlessly combine his many skills. I find that his work is quite different from the illustration styles I usually like, coming from an advertising background, clearly he has tapped into the current youth trends, and understands his clients needs. You can find more of his work on his website or on Behance. Here follows a a peek into his life in Vietnam.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Tell us a bit about yourself.
My real name is Tung, a young illustrator. Now I’m working in Vietnam. My character is a little crazy so it’s easy to understand why I chose Crazy Monkey as my nickname :)

What did you eat for breakfast?
Normally, I don’t have much time, so instant noodle is the best choice for me.

Where in the world are you right at this minute?
At the hopeful star, the active place of Vietnam, it’s Ho Chi Minh city!

Apart from illustrating, what do you do?
Besides the illustrating, I also work for the advertising industry 8 hours/day. Sometimes, I do animation projects.

Please describe your creative process.
It’s very simple, doesn’t have much rules. Everything in the life affects me and brings inspiration to me. I collect things around me, mix them and express them following my own style.

Where do you do your work? Can you send a picture of your workspace and describe it.

How does your city/ town /country influence your work and what is the illustration scene there like: competitive, friendly?
In the developing countries likes Vietnam, the life seems to be very exciting, but also tension filled.
The daily activities of people, their issues inspire me, depending on my perspective. I’m interested in both sides of life: positive and negative.

Where do you get your ideas?
It could from anything, anywhere!

What technique/s do you use?
I often use Photoshop CS5 and wacom intous3 to illustrate. Sometimes, I also use illustrator to draw vector for prints.

How do you promote your work?
I have an online gallery at behance (www.be.net/khidai) and some different webpage. To me, the internet is an useful tool to bring my artwork to friends from over the world and connect myself to them. In the near future, I hope Vietnam will have more activities for young illustrators.

What is the best illustration job you have had?
It was the first time that I drew the huge drawing on the wall, 5 metres of height, 10 metres of width. It was at my school. Now, it has been cleaned but I didn’t forget to photograph it. You can see it from my ” OMEGA Wallpainting ” project in my Behance profile.

If you could live and work anywhere in the world, where would you choose?
I would love to live at my hometown, my sweet city-Hanoi. But I also want to go somewhere to see the world, discover a lot of fascinating things, getting more experience or skill, to improve myself. I’m waiting for chance to live different place temporarily, I would prefer to choose live in New York or Seoul city.

Who are some of your favourite illustrators or creative people and why?
I was impressed by Yuko Shimizu’s figuration, the way that she combines traditional art and modern ideas is perfect, I want to learn from her style. Besides that, the creative ideas of Keith Haring and Andy Warhol bring inspiration to me. Everyday, I go on behance and watching artworks from artist all over the world . So I could know that we’re changing.

In ten years, where would you like to be?
I would like to open a studio, where I could create artworks and sell them to galleries and people all over the world. I have known Phunk studio in Singapore. It’s my dream, I admire them, and would love to do the same one.

…………………………………………………………………………
Thanks so much Crazy monkey!

Leave a Reply

