Illustration / Living in Barcelona

Banana Bread Bear Head

Today I did a super sketchy quick doodle of what I’m wearing. I went into H & M the other day to buy some belts and was quite smitten with the new collections, in previous months I haven’t really liked what they had on the shelves and hangars. I don’t know the colours were wrong or something, but when I popped in, I really could have come home with a giant shopping bag full! I may have to go back, because I limited myself to this floral jumpsuit and a ruffle dress, plus the belts I had originally planned on buying! And now my bank account is a bit depressed.

Anyway I combined it with my favourite wool hat ( a gift from MM for Christmas) I haven’t really taken it off all winter, and have gotten quite a few stares and one maniacal old man who stalked me with his camera phone and kept telling me I was Winnie the Pooh. Yes. It is a very exciting hat. A conversation starter. Although perhaps I should not be wanting to start conversations with some of the people who like my hat. Hey, whatever way I can practise my Spanish right?

Anyway I also wanted to share this recipe with you. It’s super simple and super yummy, which in my book is what it’s all about. I made it last night, and we pretty much ate all of it in one sitting. Oops! There is only one piece left!

Banana Bread Recipe
Ingredients

* 3 or 4 ripe bananas, smashed
* 1/3 cup melted butter
* 1 cup sugar (can easily reduce to 3/4 cup)
* 1 egg, beaten
* 1 teaspoon vanilla
* 1 teaspoon baking soda
* Pinch of salt
* 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour

Method

No need for a mixer for this recipe. Preheat the oven to 350°F (175°C). With a wooden spoon, mix butter into the mashed bananas in a large mixing bowl. Mix in the sugar, egg, and vanilla. Sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the mixture and mix in. Add the flour last, mix. Pour mixture into a buttered 4×8 inch loaf pan. Bake for 1 hour. Cool on a rack. Remove from pan and slice to serve.

{source}

I made a few changes to the above recipe, I substituted the Baking soda with Baking powder (I was out of soda, and anyway I hate it, if it ends up not mixing well, and when you’re in the middle of munching on a delicious sweet juicy bananery part, you may get surprised by horrible tasting baking soda)
I also added some cinnamon, diced ginger and raisins. you can add all sorts of nuts too.. yess!

One thought on “Banana Bread Bear Head

  1. Pingback: Banana Bread in the morning | The Illustrated Adventures of Kat Cameron

Leave a Reply

