Living in Barcelona

Ooh la la French Soup.

I have been trying to incorporate more fish into my meals. I’ve never been a big fan, I don’t know, fish always seems like a good idea, but generally I mess up cooking fish, and so hardly ever eat it. But I know it’s supposed to be really healthy, so have been attempting to up my mercury and brain cell levels. Heh!

Night before last I had a big chunk of Perca which is Perch or Bass, or possibly both according to Google Translate. It came all the way from Tanzania, and I stared at it for a long time in the market before buying it. I baked it pretty simply with some paprika salsa and onion, and we had quite a bit left over. So I decided to attempt to make a Bouillabaisse.

I tasted this yummy french soup when I visited St. Tropez and I’ve made the recipe before. It’s super delicious and perfect for left over fish. The Bouillabaisse is typical of the Provence area, and it seems there are quite a few takes on the recipe. I had written down scraps of the recipe from google last time I made it, and followed that, so this recipe is by no means a “proper” Bouillabaisse, or maybe it is.. haha… who knows! I’m no fancy chef, but it was pretty tastey and I figure that’s good enough, right?

So if you fancy a nice warm rich broth to snack on while you munch on butter bread and chat with friends, or watch a movie, try this!

Ingredients:

1 onion, chopped
1 carrot, grated
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1 stick celery (and leaves if you like) chopped
1 leek, chopped
1 fennel, chopped
1 tsp saffron
1 lemon or lime
a good chunk of fish, leftovers are good, you can also add shellfish, check online.
white wine
tomato paste
soup stock

Chop up all your veggies and pop them in the pot, add some olive oil and fry until the onions are soft. In another pot prepare some soup stock. If you have bought pre-made soup stock, perfect, otherwise you can make your own soup stock, look online for a good recipe, or if you are lazy, add a couple of cups of water to a stock cube and heat ’til the cube is dissolved.

Put a nice big teaspoon of saffron in your soup stock, let all the saffronyness soak in, this is the stuff that makes it super yummy, so don’t skimp!

Combine the stock and veggies in one pot, add your fish and a good dollop of tomato paste, a dash of wine, a squeeze of lemon juice, pepper and salt to taste, and you’re done! Easy peasy! Keep tasting and add salt, pepper and lemon so it’s just right. If you need more liquid, just add more water/stock/wine.

Traa la la laa la!

2 thoughts on “Ooh la la French Soup.

  1. I’ve been trying to cook more fish as well. A bit intimidating to go to the market and see all those eyes staring back at you! Looooove your work by the way- thanks for commenting on mine so that I can discover yours!

  2. Hi Johanna,
    I actually love staring at all the strange creatures they pull out of the sea, my only real concern is how much! I remember being quite shocked in Tokyo at the Tskiji Market! Here is similar, but not on such a huge scale. It worries me quite a bit the sustainability of all the fishing. I kind of wish they would farm them…. Although I think some of the shellfish is?

    Anyway let me know when you have some good fishy recipes, I’ll see if I can try my hand at them!

    P.s. Don’t the Rape fish have the most terrifying googly eyes ever ! Yuck!

Leave a Reply

