Illustration

Curious Cards

zebra dream

I was lucky enough to be invited to illustrate cards for a client in South Africa over the past little while and when I went down to the Kruger Park I picked up the proofs. I have to say they look pretty cool. They will be printed a little bigger than these, and come with envelopes. The paper is glossy and textured which is interesting. I am eager to see how successful they will be and I have plans to create future batches which will also hopefully involve a collaboration between myself and Zosienka. She was also involved in the first edition, and created some beautiful watercolour birds, which are quirky and full of character.

cards4

Our cards are really different in terms of style and execution and I am interested to see how the shoppers in Nelspruit, which is where they will be initially available, will react to them.

On a different note, this is a song I have been listening to and loving recently. I stumbled upon it by accident on Spotify and it just makes me smile. I hope it makes you smile too! Its called “Home” and I suppose being at home in South Africa and all the engagement celebrations here made me think of it. Enjoy!

The lyrics are just lovely, I copied some here, so you can sing along karaoke style. oh yes you can!

Man oh man you’re my best friend,
I scream it to the nothingness,
There ain’t nothing that I need.

Ahh Home. Let me come home
Home is wherever I’m with you.
Ahh Home. Let me go ho-oh-ome.
Home is wherever I’m with you.

I’ll follow you into the park,
Through the jungle through the dark,
Girl I never loved one like you.

Moats and boats and waterfalls,
Alley-ways and pay phone calls,
I’ve been everywhere with you.

5 thoughts on “Curious Cards

  1. Where in Nelspruit will they be selling? Because I have wanted to buy some of your stuff for a while now, and I’ll ask my mom to get hold of some. Very keen! And as soon as I have a job and real money I’m buying a poster for me and my friend who loves your work as well.
    Love Zebra Dream!!

    • I believe they will be on sale at Mopani Pharmacy. I’m not sure when the release date will be, but I think it will be pretty soon! I´m so glad you like them, yay!

Leave a Reply

