Illustration / Inspiration

Fairytales and the art of Edmund Dulac, Jessie Willcox Smith & Dorothy M. Wheeler

I love fairy tales. “The Princess and the Pea”, or the “Nightingale” remind me of the reading corner in the Library in Port Elizabeth, or having my mom or dad read us “The Faraway Tree” before bed. The stories were great, but the illustrations really captured my imagination. I hope the following collection of images I have found will take you on a trip down memory lane, or perhaps you will find a sunny corner to reread a book and be a kid again!

Jessie Willcox Smith (September 6, 1863 – May 3, 1935) was a United States illustrator famous for her work in magazines such as Ladies Home Journal and for her illustrations for children’s books. These are her illustrations for the “Water babies”, a classic story of a young Victorian chimney sweep who finds himself on a wondrous underwater adventure.

Jessie Willcox-Smith

Edmund Dulac born on October 22, 1882 was a French book illustrator prominent during what was called the “Golden Age of Illustration”. He illustrated “The Nightingale” by Hans Christian Andersen and many other fairytales which I loved, including an image for the “Princess and the Pea” which has remained vivid in my mind for years! I love all those colourful mattresses, I think I would be able to sleep so well on a bed like that, pea or no pea!

Edmund Dulac

Finally I always loved the illustrations for the Faraway Tree Series by Enid Blyton. The Saucpanman, and Moonface, as well as all the different worlds at the top of the tree, really blew my imagination. Unfortunately I was not really able to find any information on the illustrator other than her name: Dorothy M. Wheeler. Anyway her illustrations are probably among the many that inspire me to draw to this day!

Childrens books

Leave a Reply

